top of page

Witches, Moons & Menstruation

It’s that time of the month again – yes, today is the Full Moon! Sometimes called the Mourning Moon or the Moon Before Yule, this moon is a particularly good time to let go of anything negative that has been holding you back; and any emotions that have been preventing you from living the life you desire and deserve.


At the Mourning Moon we mark the passing of the year which has ended (at the Pagan celebration of Samhain or Halloween) and rest, recuperate and reflect on what has gone well, what we would like to have been different and how we will prepare to make those changes as the Wheel of the Year begins to turn once more and we approach the Winter Solstice.


The Mourning Moon is particularly relevant to me at this time (and why I have chosen this moment myself to take some time to rest), but even more interestingly perhaps is that I have had my period arrive today.


Yes. It’s that THAT of the month too. So why are periods so important to witches, and to making amazing magick?

For many years I suffered with PCOS (or Polycystic Ovary Syndrome), and this meant that my monthly cycle was completely out of balance – as was my life. It took me some time to realise that if I were able to rebalance my life, I would also rebalance my cycle – and my feminine health.


The female menstrual cycle has been associated with the Lunar cycle for hundreds if not thousands of years. The very word “lunacy” of course refers to the “madness” often prescribed to women who were suffering with Pre-Menstrual Syndrome (PMS). There was once a study performed that did seem to prove that our cycles do naturally want to align with that of the Moon, but this was later apparently “debunked” in a study conducted by a well-known period tracker app.


As we are all so out of balanced with life in general – spending far too many hours on our phones, burning the metaphorical candle at both ends as we try to work, cope with the stresses and strains of modern life and living in a very different way to how we naturally would have done when we first came to be as human beings, it isn’t at all surprising to me that our female cycles are no longer properly aligning with those of the Moon.


We (and our bodies) are basically all over the place! So, what can we do about it?

The fact of the matter is, that we know the moon controls the tides of the seas and oceans – the water that is the lifeblood of our planet. Up to 60% of our bodies are made up of water. How could the moon not have an influence on our bodies? That’s just science. Spiritually of course, that comes down to your personal beliefs. But as a witch, I certainly know that connecting spiritually and physically with the moon has had a huge positive impact on my well-being, and my magick!


I have suffered myself with PMS all my life, as well as PCOS which at one point caused my periods to stop all together. I have been able to manage and recover from this by using WishCraft to align with my natural lunar cycle. I also track my periods and my moods throughout the month which helps me to understand my fluctuating feelings throughout my cycle.


About a week before my period starts, I make time for lots and lots of extra self-care – I reduce my workload, my stress-load, take gentle exercise, rest when I’m tired, eat when I’m hungry and just allow myself to “do” and “be” whatever it is I need at that time to feel comfortable, safe and nourished (without the guilt I used to feel that I hadn’t finished all the vacuuming, or that there was still 3 piles of washing to be done!)


Using WishCraft has helped me attune my menstrual cycle fully now with the cycles of the moon. It took perhaps a year, but my periods are now very regular and tend to come on or around the full moon.

This is some achievement, as there were times when I would go 6 months without a period. The fact that my period comes at the full moon makes perfect sense for me: as the moon is full, my body has also become full. As with the lunar cycle, my own body is preparing to release and let go of what is no longer needed to make way for healthy, fresh physiological changes and emotional changes; as well as practical changes within my life that are part of the process in the next phase of my “Mistress Plan” – or my life goals! And help others to do the same. To help YOU to do the same :)


Aligning your body with the Moon is incredibly important. As we know, the more we are aligned with what was naturally intended for us, the stronger our connection with the Cosmos and therefore the more powerful becomes our magick and ability to manifest good and positive changes; as does our ability to just be able to “breathe” and enjoy our lives as they are right now.


I have included the simple Menstrual Moon ritual that I’ve used in the WishCraft book for you to try yourself – and this can also be adapted if you are going through the menopause to help cope with this natural changes too. Work with the Maiden, Mother and Crone phases of the Moon (and your own body and life stage) to feel more at ease with your own unique and divine femininity.

When your own body aligns you may find your period comes not at the full moon, but perhaps at the new moon or during a dark moon – it will be different for everyone, but as you connect with your body you will come to understand why this is, and what it means for you. Then you will be able to take better care of yourself and become healthier and more aligned, both menstrually AND magickally.


If you would like to try the Menstrual Moon Magick ritual I use myself, you can grab your copy of WishCraft: A Complete Beginner's Guide to Magickal Manifesting for the Modern Witch right here now!


If you're interested in exploring more about witchcraft, magick and menstruation then my fellow Hay House author Lisa Lister is well worth checking out. Her books Code Red: Know your Flow, Unlock your Superpowers and Create a Bloody Amazing Life. Period. and Witch. Unleashed. Untamed. Unapologetic. are both available in various formats on Amazon.


Subscribe to my Magickal Mailing list right now here to download a FREE chapter of WishCraft and discover your unique Secret Soul Signature - you also get a bonus 10-page personal magickal profile to download and print!


Love & Light,

Sakura Xx


All picture credits to Nylon.com Their Sacred Menstruation 101: How to Reclaim your Period blog article is another great read!

123 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

lav cat.jpg
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

Sakura's approach to WishCraft and witchcraft is accessible, modern, and fun. She is the founder of the WishCraft Academy, an online resource for women who want to explore the world of magickal manifesting without having to perform complex ceremonies or complicated spells. Sakura is passionate about inspiring women to have the confidence to become the Mistresses of their own destiny through her teaching, which combines spiritual development, self-appreciation and powerful Cosmic communication.

Sakura Fox

You are a powerful woman with magick in her heart and a sparkle in her step; a woman who knows how to create the life she dreams of - on her own terms!

20200714_033727.jpg
bottom of page